top of page
  • Foto del escritorlissettemgb

Homemade rice and coconut oil soap bars, toothpaste and massage bars.

I

honestly start to making my sustainable bathroom swap by changing my toothbrushes for a bamboo toothbrushes, after I did my soaps, toothpaste, body cream and massage bars, I love and enjoy making my own products, like this I make sure to use only quality ingredients and use less plastic. As I always said every little change can have a big impact. I hope you like it too.


To make the rice and coconut oil soaps I use:


-3 Glycerin bae soaps

-2 tablespoons of white rice powder ( just blend the regular rice until powder)

-2 tablespoons of coconut oil ( you can substitute 1 by an almond oil)

-10-15 drops of Lavender essential oil (optional)


-Method: In a doble boiler put the shredded soaps, and remove until starts to look liquid (about 10mins) after add the rice and oil and keep removing, until all the ingredients are very mixed, after put a pan and cut it by yourself once is cold and thick or put them in tiny molds to make the shaped bars, let them cool about 3 hours and they’re ready to use!

*The ingredients you can modify them a little bit, add more oils, more rice, different essential oil, etc the final product melted should be homogeneous not to thick not to liquid, enough to put it in the molds and is normal that gets thick very quickly.

.



To make the Toothpaste you need:


-2 tablespoons of baking soda

-2 tablespoons of coconut oil

-10 or 15 drops of mint essential oil

Method: just mix very well all the ingredients, put it in a glass jar and keep it in the fridge or in your bathroom depends if it melts too much or stays thick.



To make the massage bars you need:

-Mold of your choice (you can use ice cube trays too)

-1/2 cup coconut oil

-1/2 cup shea butter

-1/2 cup of candelilla wax (vegan) or beeswax pellets (these help the bars keep their structure and last longer)

-1/4 cup dried lavender buds

-10-12 drops lavender essential oil

-3-4 drops Vitamin E oil (optional)


Method: Sprinkle approximately 1/2 Tablespoon of dried lavender buds into the bottom of each mold. 

Place the coconut oil and wax pellets in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on High, 20 seconds at a time or until melted. If using the stove top, place in small sauce pan on low.


Add the shea butter to the melted oil and mix.  The warm oil should melt the shea butter on it’s own.  If not, heat for a few seconds then remove. Stir in lavender oil.

Pour and fill each mold, let them cool for for 4 hours or chill in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. And that’s it! I love using these bars to massage my sore muscles after my workouts, to ease the pain the next day.

I hope you enjoy making these products, they’re natural, smells amazing, I’ve never had more clean and white teeth, I hope you like them too!


Lissette xx


49 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page